Padiham Unitarian Chapel, Burnley, Lancashire

Contact us
More Installations
Our Organs
Audio Samples
About the company
The Phoenix Organ System
  How it works
Send us email

The magnificent new Phoenix Digital Draw-stop Organ in Pine matches the Chapel interior. It has American Black Walnut stop jambs, and an Oak and Beech pedalboard. The organ has 3 manuals, 48 speaking stops plus Tremulants, couplers and a full range of stop control accessories.

Barry R Brown, the organist at Padiham Nazareth Unitarian Chapel writes:

"We commissioned a three manual custom built draw-stop instrument from Phoenix Organs UK made from pine and stained to match the interior at Nazareth Unitarian Chapel Padiham. We took delivery some nine months ago. Over a period of a few months, the digital sound samples were adjusted and finished on-site by David Bostock (the Principal of Phoenix Organs UK) so that the instrument sound as we wished in the Chapel.
We have had three of the first series of 5 concerts organised for the instrument and the general consensus of the audience has been most favourable.  
I cannot speak too highly of the painstaking attention of David Bostock, not a merely before its production, but during the installation and especially afterwards. Nothing has been too much trouble.  Anyone wishing to visit the Church to see the instrument for themselves is  most welcome, you only need to contact David to arrange a visit.  
I unreservedly commend the company to anyone considering a digital instrument of high quality at a most competitive price!"

The specification of the organ is as follows:

(12 speaking stops, 15 ranks)

Double Diapason 16
Open Diapason I 8
Open Diapason II 8
Stopped Diapason 8
Claribel Flute 8
Octave 4
Harmonic Flute 4
Twelfth 22/3
Fifteenth 2
Seventeenth 13/5
Fourniture IV
Trumpet 8
Swell to Great
Choir to Great


SWELL (enclosed)
(13 speaking stops, 16 ranks)

Geigen 8
Gedackt 8
Salicional 8
Voix Celeste II
Principal 4
Nason Flute 4
Fifteenth 2
Mixture III
Contra Fagotto 16
Cornopean 8
Oboe 8
Vox Humana 8
Clarion 4


CHOIR (enclosed)
(12 speaking stops, 12 ranks)

Diapason 8
Rohrflute 8
Prestant 4
Koppel Flute 4
Nazard 22/3
Block Flute 2
Tierce 13/5
Larigot 11/3
Piccolo 1
Clarinet 8
Orchestral Oboe 8
Tuba 8
Swell to Choir


(10 speaking stops, 14 ranks)

Contra Bourdon 32
Principal 16
Open Wood 16
Bourdon 16
Octave 8
Bass Flute 8
Fifteenth 4
Mixture V
Contra Bombarde 32
Posaune 16
Swell to Pedal
Great to Pedal
Choir to Pedal
Gt & Pd Pistons Coupled


8 Pistons to Swell
8 Pistons to Great
8 Pistons to Choir
8 General Pistons
6 Reversible Couplers
Set & General Cancel Pistons
16 Memory levels
Piston Sequencer
8 Pedal Toe Pistons
8 General/Swell Toe Pistons
(Switch to select)
2 Pedal Toe Piston Reversers
‘Sequence Plus’ Toe Piston


12 Audio channels
Lexicon MPX 110 reverb
7 full range speakers
4 mid range speakers
1 sub bass speaker
Installed in Summer 2004.    

© Phoenix Organs 2001-2005  Last updated 18th February  2005